Monday, January 22, 2007

ALA Announces Winners

The winners of the Newbery and Caldecott awards were announced this morning.

The Caldecott Medal is awarded annually to the artist of the most distinguished American picture book for children. This year's winner is Flotsam by David Weisner.
This book was one of William's Christmas gifts and we love it. Each time we read it, we find something new and exciting in the illustrations. I'm a huge fan of wordless picture books, largely for the opportunities they present children to be storytellers.

The Newbery Medal is awarded annually to the author of the most distinguished contribution to American literature for children. This year's winner is The Higher Power of Lucky by Susan Patron.

Honor books in each category include:
  • Gone Wild: An Endangered Animal Alphabet by David McLimans
  • Moses: When Harriet Tubman Led Her People to Freedom illustrated by Kadir Nelson, written by Carole Boston Weatherford

  • Penny from Heaven by Jennifer L. Holm
  • Hattie Big Sky by Kirby Larson
  • Rules by Cynthia Lord
  • No comments:

    Post a Comment