Tuesday, April 28, 2009

Jane Addams Children's Book Award Winners Announced

The winners of the 2009 Jane Addams Children's Book Award have been announced. The awards are given annually to the "children's books published the preceding year that effectively promote the cause of peace, social justice, world community, and the equality of the sexes and all races as well as meeting conventional standards for excellence."

Planting the Trees of Kenya: The Story of Wangari Maathai,
written and illustrated by Claire A. Nivola

written by Margarita Engle

Honor Books
Silent Music: A Story of Baghdad, written and illustrated by James Rumford

The Storyteller's Candle/La velita de los cuentos, written by Lucia Gonzalez and illustrated by Lulu Delacre

Ain't Nothing But a Man: My Quest to Find the Real John Henry, written by Scott Reynolds Nelson with Marc Aronson

The Shepherd's Granddaughter, written by Anne Laurel Carter

No comments:

Post a Comment